Whipwuh!

November 24, 2010 § 9 Comments

It’s Wednesday! That means it’s WiP Wednesday / WiPW / Whipwuh!

This is the scarf pictured a few weeks ago, only it’s much tinier. I didn’t realize that I screwed up the direction and the idea that it would straighten out was wrong 😦 so, I had to frog all of it and ended up restarting on larger needles.

It doesn’t look like anything now, but it’s going to be a stuffed animals. I don’t really want to say what exactly it’s going to be quite yet, but the colors should give it away.

Started swatching for my All Day Beret.

My “grandpa scarf” hasn’t moved much. I’m using Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s pattern which is really easy…I’m just lazy.

This scarf…oh, this scarf. Let me tell you about this scarf. I’m making this for the OFA Red Scarf Project, using the Palindrome pattern, in Cascade’s Eco+ wool. I started on size 10 needles and used the single cast-on method, which looked pretty awful with the pattern. Then I messed up the cable pattern…frogged it. Started again, same cast-on, made it to two cable repeats, but it looked too loose. Frogged it. Used long-tail cast-on, still looked too loose. Frogged it.
Then I got my needles and decided it would be better with a smaller needle size. Started on a size 8, long-tail cast on, perfect! By two cable repeats I realized it was too narrow. Frogged it. Casted on 12 extra stitches, same cast-on, and I’ve made it to three cable repeats. So far, so good, except for one tiny issue. My size 8 needles don’t fit on the cable properly, where one side is too loose and the other has an unsightly gap. Rather than turn green and start smashing things, I emailed Knit Picks and now there’s a replacement size 8 set in the mail. I’m only a little worried about reaching the deadline, 3 weeks feels like plenty of time as long as there aren’t any more issues.

If the toy wasn’t enough to prove that I’m still crocheting, then there’s this, the Madison Shrug. I spent a few weeks swatching and now I’m still finishing the first sleeve. So far so good, I love the yarn I’m using (Spa by Naturally Caron)…just lazy as always. 😀

That’s it for now – have a great Thanksgiving holiday!

§ 9 Responses to Whipwuh!

  • Denise says:

    Many projects you have going there. I thought the second picture was a rubber ducky with the yellow thing in the background.

  • Tami says:

    WOW, you’ve been busy. I would have been pulling my hair out if I were you on that scarf. It’s so great to hear that KnitPicks is sending you a replacement. Their customer service is amazing.

    Is that stuffed animal going to be Charlie Brown!? LOL It looks like his shirt.

    • breadmaker says:

      Me too! I’ve heard great things about KP’s customer service and I figured with Thanksgiving they’d be delayed, but everything was sent out in the mail earlier today.
      Nope, not Charlie Brown, but close! It won’t be a Peanuts character but it is a character from another newspaper comic strip. 😉

  • autumngeisha says:

    I had to laugh when I read about your red scarf mishap. Sometimes a project seems mysteriously cursed from cast-on. I’m glad that you were able to straighten yours out. I am horrible at guessing, but is the animal a tiger maybe?

  • Kathleen says:

    The beginnings of your stuffed animal make me smile, orange and black stripes can only mean awesomeness.

    I hope your red scarf cooperates after this—it looks perfectly lovely, with its pretty cables—not like a slightly-evil object at all.

  • Stacey says:

    You’re so busy this week!
    I’m guessing it’s Hobbes…

  • […] following my previous WiPW as a guide… My Multidirectional Scarf has been coming along great – the size 9s make […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whipwuh! at Hold The Pickles.

meta

