F-WiP!

December 24, 2010 § Leave a comment

I know, I know, it’s supposed to be WiP Wednesday, not Friday. I intended to make a post on Wednesday but I have little to no sense of what day of the week it is. I’ve also had a massive head cold and no voice for about a week, but finally got over the “oh man remember when I could breathe through my nose? good times” phase.
First! The grandpa neck-warmer has since been handed over and is now in Florida 🙂 he loved the idea of a neck-warmer instead of a scarf, though I think I made the button-hole a little too big. When I went to visit, I ended up talking to his girlfriend about knitting and told her all about interchangeable needles, while she showed me an afghan she made and told me about several yarn stores in the area that I haven’t been to yet…but I’ll have to now!

Anyway, following my previous WiPW as a guide…

My Multidirectional Scarf has been coming along great – the size 9s make the process go much faster and it’s much less dense than on the size 6. I’ve already finished my first color (Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in Edgewater) and am onto my second (Andersonville) so hopefully it’ll be done while, uh, it’s still cold out.


Technically this is a super secret gift, oh my! Back when I went to Stitches East I got a TON of Araucania Pomaire, an aran weight 100% hand-dyed pima cotton. My mom kept hinting that she likes the color, so I’m making her a Clapotis for Christmas. I’m nowhere near done, which she knows, and I already know that I’m going to be making another one in the future. From what I understand, the finished scarf/shawl looks amazing when blocked, and since cotton has no memory, it’s hard for it to keep its shape. I don’t have experience with blocking cotton so I don’t know how true that is, but worst case I have to go get a different yarn and make another. (oh woe is me!)

Everything else on my last WiP post is essentially in hibernation, especially the shrug and the OFA Red Scarf. I didn’t make the deadline for the latter, and the former’s just one of those things I need to be in the right “mood” to want to work on.
Also, two projects aren’t pictured here: a Penelope (by Rebecca Danger) in Cascade 220 and a pair of armwarmers in Malabrigo Rios. Both have taught me two important things:
1. Rios is SO, SO SMOOSHY. It’s also very knotty, no pun intended, and winding it was a little frustrating, but so worth it.
2. I absolutely need to Magic Loop everything that I can. I’m so glad I finally conquered that technique and I can see why people say it’s so addictive.

I suppose that’s enough for now, I’m feeling kinda chilly and should start thinking about dinner. I hope everybody has a fantastic and safe holiday! 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading F-WiP! at Hold The Pickles.

meta

